[ad_1]
Google Maps can be an incredibly useful tool – but it comes with risks.
While it can be useful to know what a place was like before you arrived, whether it’s a house or a restaurant, it can reveal details about your home that you might want to hide.
1
Once you blur something on Street View, it becomes permanently blurredCredit: Google Maps
In extreme cases, stalkers or criminals can use Google Maps Street View to scout out any blind spots, cameras or windows out of view to plot their way inside homes.
Street View is self-explanatory, allowing users to view the street digitally as you would see it if you were physically there.
However, there is a trick to hide your home from Street View.
To do this, head to the Google Maps website on your computer and enter your home address into the search bar at the top right of the page.
Click your home photo when it appears and hit Report a Problem in the bottom left.
Then, like magic, you can use your mouse to choose which parts of your property you wish to hide from the Internet.
You’ll be asked to provide a few details about what exactly you want that isn’t clear, in case the photo gets busy with cars, people, and other things.
And remember: once you blur something on Street View, it’s permanently darkened.
Safety feature for individual travel
Another tip about settings Google Maps users are urged to change would help loved ones keep an eye on your tabs while traveling.
Traveling alone or in the dark can sometimes be unsafe, and get on the nerves of loved ones at home.
Google Maps also allows you to share your location with others in real time.
Although it may sound a little intimidating, it can be a useful security feature.
You can allow close friends or family members to monitor your location for a while while you are on the go.
This feature is also useful when you’re heading to a friend’s house and they want to know how far you are.
To use this feature, open Google Maps > tap the profile icon > share location.
When you want to start sharing, tap Share location and then tap for 1 hour to customize how long you want to share your location.
Then you can choose one of your contacts from the list.
The best tips and advice related to smart phones and devices
Are you looking for tips and tricks for your phone? Want to find those secret features inside social media apps? We’ve got you covered…
We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at [email protected]
|
Sources 2/ https://news.google.com/__i/rss/rd/articles/CBMiQGh0dHBzOi8vd3d3LnRoZXN1bi5jby51ay90ZWNoLzIxMDM2ODY1L21ha2UtZ29vZ2xlLW1hcHMtY2hhbmdlcy_SAURodHRwczovL3d3dy50aGVzdW4uY28udWsvdGVjaC8yMTAzNjg2NS9tYWtlLWdvb2dsZS1tYXBzLWNoYW5nZXMvYW1wLw?oc=5 The mention sources can contact us to remove/changing this article |
[ad_2]